That Ship May Sail

via Daily Prompt: Sail

 

Today we commemorate

The birth of our great nation

I’m proud of America

Without a hesitation

 

Our history is a mix

Of proud times and those of shame

We should not throw out the good

Or forget when some defame

 

Let us become a country

That is honest and upright

Poor, tired, huddled masses

For you we will always fight

 

I am not a liberal

I’m not a conservative

I am just American

I love, respect, and forgive

 

We are the heirs of freedom

But freedom doesn’t come free

It is bought with sacrifice

By all of us, you and me

 

Women and men died for it

Some are even serving now

It must be preserved today

And to this I do avow

 

If we just stand idly by

Or stay ashamed when we fail

The chance to save liberty

Might be lost…that ship may sail

 

 

 

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/sail/

Leave a Reply

